skip navigation

Steve Levy Set to Serve as Master of Ceremonies for 2019 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration

By USA Hockey, 12/06/19, 9:45AM MST


Class of 2019 to be inducted on Dec. 12 in Washington, D.C.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Steve Levy, one of the most dynamic and versatile personalities in sports television, will serve as master of ceremonies for the sold out 2019 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration on Dec. 12, at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C., it was announced today by USA Hockey. It will mark the 10th straight year Levy will host the signature event.

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration features the formal induction of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2019, including Gary Bettman (New York, N.Y.), Brian Gionta (Rochester, N.Y.), Neal Henderson (Upper Marlboro, Md.), Tim Thomas (Flint, Mich.) and Krissy Wendell (Brooklyn Park, Minn.). In addition, Dr. Jack Blatherwick (Minneapolis, Minn.) will receive the NHL's Lester Patrick Trophy, and Alex Ovechkin (Moscow, Russia) will be honored with the Wayne Gretzky International Award at the event.

Since joining ESPN as an anchor on SportsCenter in August 1993, the multitalented Levy has served as one of the network’s preeminent personalities for more than 25 years. Well known for being one of the top college football play-by-play voices on ESPN/ABC, he has also been part of ESPN’s Monday Night Football telecasts during his exemplary career, and has covered the past 25 Stanley Cup Finals for SportsCenter.

Class of 2019

In addition to his work on SportsCenter, he has handled play-by-play of the NHL on ESPN, ESPN2 and ABC Sports, along with the NCAA Frozen Four in 1998 and ’99. He also provided play-by-play commentary and analysis for the network throughout the World Cup of Hockey in 2016.

Prior to joining ESPN, Levy gained experience as a sports anchor/reporter at WCBS-TV in New York from 1992-93 and a Sports Desk host on the Madison Square Garden Network in 1989.

Levy also hosted and produced a nationally syndicated pre-game show on the NHL Radio Network from 1988-89 and hosted intermission updates for the New York Rangers games.

Notes: U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame inductees are chosen on the basis of extraordinary contribution to the sport of hockey in the United States … The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was incorporated in 1969 and inducted its first class in 1973. The Class of 2019 will be the 47th installed to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. To date, there are 182 enshrinees. For information on the members of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, visit ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Museum, located in Eveleth, Minnesota, is open daily. For hours of operation and admission prices, visit or call 800-443-7825.


Past Inductees

More U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame News