skip navigation

Class of 2019 Enshrined into U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

By USA Hockey, 12/12/19, 8:45PM MST


Gary Bettman, Brian Gionta, Neal Henderson, Tim Thomas and Krissy Wendell comprise 2019 inductee class

Five American hockey legends including Gary BettmanBrian GiontaNeal HendersonTim Thomas and Krissy Wendell were formally enshrined into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame this evening during a sold-out induction ceremony at the Marriott Marquis Washington D.C.

In addition to the induction of the Class of 2019, Jack Blatherwick was awarded the Lester Patrick Trophy, presented for outstanding service to hockey in the U.S. and Alexander Ovechkin was awarded the 2019 Wayne Gretzky International Award, which pays tribute to international individuals who have made major contributions to the growth of hockey in the United States.

"We honored an incredible group of individuals here tonight," said Jim Smith, president of USA Hockey. "They have had such an impact on our great sport and have certainly left their legacy on the hockey community. Their contributions will be present within the sport for many years to come."

For more background on the storied careers of each inductee, please click here.

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2019

NOTES: USA Hockey assumed responsibilities for the selection process and induction event associated with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2006 ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was incorporated in 1969 and inducted its first class in 1973. With the inclusion of the Class of 2019, there are 183 enshrined members and four enshrined teams ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was established in 1973 to preserve the rich history of the game in the United States, while recognizing the extraordinary contributions of select players, coaches, administrators, officials and teams ... The United States Hockey Hall of Fame Museum is located in Eveleth, Minnesota.