skip navigation

Levy to MC Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

By USA Hockey, 09/19/12, 1:15PM MDT


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Steve Levy, longtime ESPN SportsCenter anchor and hockey broadcaster, will serve as Master of Ceremonies for the 40th Annual U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner, Monday, Oct. 15, in Dallas, Texas.

Levy, a New York native, will help to formally enshrine the Class of 2012 into the Hall, including Lou Lamoriello, Mike Modano and Eddie Olczyk

"We're extremely pleased to welcome Steve back to host this year's U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner," said Dave Ogrean, executive director of USA Hockey. "It's one of the most anticipated events on the hockey calendar in our country each year and we're excited to have someone with not only great passion for the game, but knowledge of its history, serving as emcee of this wonderful celebration."

Levy has been an anchor on SportsCenter for nearly 20 years, after first joining the ESPN staple in 1993. He also provided play-by-play for the network's coverage of the NHL from 1995-2004, as well as its broadcasts of the NCAA Division I Men's Frozen Four in 1998 and 1999. His hockey broadcasting background extends beyond the television studio, having produced and hosted a nationally syndicated show on NHL Radio Network (1988-89) and calling college hockey games for his alma mater, State University of New York at Oswego.

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Dinner & Ceremony, which will take place on the ice at the Plaza of the Americas in Dallas and the adjacent Dallas Marriott City Center, will also include the presentation of two other prestigious hockey awards. Murray Costello will receive the Wayne Gretzky Award, significant of major contribution to the growth and advancement of hockey in the United States by an international citizen. In addition, Bob Chase/Wallenstein and Dick Patrick will be honored with the Lester Patrick Trophy, an NHL honor representative of outstanding contribution to hockey in the United States.

To purchase tickets or for more information, visit

Notes: USA Hockey took over responsibilities for the selection process and induction event associated with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2006 and has staged induction ceremonies in Grand Forks, N.D., (2007), Denver (2008), Boston (2009), Buffalo, N.Y. (2010) and Chicago (2011). The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was founded in 1973. To date, there are 153 enshrined members in the Hall. For information on the members of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, visit ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Museum, located in Eveleth, Minn., is open daily. For hours of operation and admission prices, visit or call 800-443-7825.