skip navigation

U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Dinner Date Nearing

By U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, 10/04/07, 10:30AM MDT


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The University of North Dakota and Michigan State University hockey teams will be in attendance at the 2007 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Dinner on Friday, Oct. 12, at the Betty Engelstad Sioux Center in Grand Forks, N.D., it was announced today by USA Hockey.

In addition, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, which honors the best player in NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey each year, will be on display at the event. Both Ryan Duncan of the University of North Dakota – the most recent recipient of the honor and Neal Broten -- the first-ever winner – will be in attendance.

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2007 includes Aaron Broten, Bobby Carpenter, John MacInnes and John Vanbiesbrouck.

USA Hockey also announced that Jim Rich, sports director at FOX 9 in Minneapolis/St. Paul and long-time promoter of hockey in America, will serve as the master of ceremonies for the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Dinner.

A very limited amount of tickets for the event, which begins at 7 p.m. CT, are still available for $65 each and can be purchased in person at the Ralph Engelstad Arena or by calling 701-777-6609.

As has been previously announced, Lou Vairo, head coach of the 1984 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team and one of the most prominent hockey figures in the United States, will be the featured speaker.

USA Hockey assumed responsibility for the selection process and induction event associated with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame this past spring.

NOTES: Doors will open at 6:30 p.m. CT for the 7 p.m. dinner … The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Game between top-ranked North Dakota and second-ranked Michigan State, will be played on Saturday, Oct. 13, at the Ralph Engelstad Arena in Grand Forks, N.D. A limited number of tickets remain for the game and may be purchased at the Ralph Engelstad box office, online at, or by calling 701-772-5151.