skip navigation

Watch: Class of 2014 Induction Speeches

By USAHockey.com, 12/08/14, 8:45AM MST

Share

Full video of U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Speeches

Watch the full videos of the induction speeches below.




Class of 2014

Related Articles

More Videos



Popular News & Features

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 31

By USA Hockey 03/04/2022, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Goalkeeper interference...Control of the puck...Injured players...and more.

QUESTION: I was reffing a game this past weekend and a player high sticked the puck "on goal". The puck deflected off the goalie's chest back to the player who shot the puck in the net. In the rule book, it says the player must have complete control of the puck in order to negate the high stick, but does a save count as complete control?

ANSWER: A rebound off a goalkeeper is not considered “control” of the puck for the purposes of negating a potential High-Stick or Hand-Pass offense.

 

QUESTIONI had a 8U player get penalized for embellishment related to a tripping call that went against him? So they called the trip but also called embellishment against my player, so we played 5 vs 5. I have looked in rule 601 for Abuse of Officials and found no language of embellishment being a makable call. Any insight would be appreciated.

ANSWER: There is no “Diving” rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules.

 

QUESTIONDelayed minor penalty coming against the home team. Home team gains possession and control just outside of their defensive zone. In those two feet between the neutral zone dot and the blue line. Where is the ensuing face-off?

ANSWER: In this situation, the face-off would occur in the Home Team's defending end-zone.

 

QUESTION: A player from Team A has the puck behind their net. A player from Team B skates just inside the goalkeeper's crease towards the player behind the net. Team A goalie sticks his catching glove up waiving it around blocking Team B players vision and direct path to Team A player behind the net. Team A had clear possession of the puck during the play. Is the goalie allowed to wave their arms around and block Team B players from skating through the crease in this situation?

ANSWER: While attacking players are not permitted to skate through the opposing goalkeeper’s crease (unless the puck is located in the crease), goalkeepers are not permitted to physically interfere with attacking players who do not have possession of the puck.

 

QUESTIONCan an injured player be on the bench with his team wearing a helmet and his jersey?

ANSWER: Yes, a player who is unable to play due to injury or illness (i.e. not suspended) may stand on the team bench during a game provided he/she wears a helmet, face-mask and team jersey. He/she should not be listed on the game roster as a player or team official. 

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!

Shortly after returning from Beijing, Compher attended a Try Hockey For Free event

U.S. Olympic legend was recently hired as third female assistant GM in NHL history